17 weeks

{via}

I had a wonderful photoshoot with a dear friend of mine at 17 weeks. I can’t believe that I am nearly halfway done making baby Chang! I am not one of those ladies who loves being pregnant and misses being pregnant and can’t wait to be pregnant again {those folks are crazy..kinda like people who love summer..crazy}. I haven’t been feeling so hot. My body feels like it is constantly trying to recover from a marathon and I am so tired always. I don’t remember the first pregnancy being like this but I guess things change when you have a child in your mid twenties compared to being almost 30 {next month!!!}. I have been swimming a lot and taking my Juice Plus also while doing yoga and getting an occasional massage. I guess we really don’t give women much credit for growing a person in their body. It’s hard work people!!

I am hoping to take a trip next month to the great state of Washington! I can’t wait! I’ll be in the Seattle/Tacoma area 🙂 I just love to travel. The world is so big and there is just so much to see and do. I have really been having a hard time here in the DC area {i don’t actually live in DC..i live in a suburb}. I have lived here for nearly 9 years and not once have I loved being here. It still doesn’t feel like home. I don’t feel like I belong here. I feel like a stranger. Hopefully that will change soon or hopefully I can find a community and church family soon. I don’t believe we are suppose to do life alone. Something in me says we are suppose to live communally and raise our children together. Something about the culture here {i know this does not mean everyone} isn’t about that. What I see in other cultures that I have visited {hawaii, kansas city, san fran, jackson tn} is that people are important. Doesn’t matter so much what you DO but rather who you ARE. I like that.

It has been a hard journey here. Especially being pregnant and having a 4yr old. I long for a little dinky house with a yard and clothes line. I want friends over for dinner and I want to watch another friends baby while they go out on a date. I want to come over to your house on a Wednesday and not have to schedule it a month in advance. I want my kids to have friends to play with and not have to drive an hour to meet up.

In other news, we find out the gender of this little bundle in 2 weeks. I am so pumped. I don’t care if its a boy or girl. I just pray it is healthy and very asian looking.

4 thoughts on “17 weeks

  1. I too struggle with a lack of community. St Louis is a wonderful city with loads of culture and tons of things to do…BUT the people suck. It’s just me and the babe and the hubby. It’s something that gets me down more often than I’d like to admit.

    I long for mom friends to go to garage sales and random morning coffees. For friends to just drop by. I miss Kansas City.

  2. I hope baby Chang looks very Asian as well 🙂 Excited for you that you get to head over to the beautiful state of Washington. Thought of you while I was in San Fran this last week. I can understand your desire for community, I pray you find that soon!

  3. Just keep on holding on. It will be over soon enough and you will meet your new love child (at least this is what I keep telling myself at 38 weeks ;)). You look pretty going through your pregnancy! I’m excited for you and your journey and I envy you for traveling ANYWHERE through your pregnancy. I live in a neighborhood like you mentioned now and I HATE it. There’s plenty of “community” but not much that I would really appreciate my children around so I’ve still been scheduling play-dates with family members myself. Hope it gets better for you and can’t wait to hear of your new baby’s arrival soon!

Leave a Reply

