Sweet storms

The family and I spent Saturday in DC. We had such a great time. The weather was perfect and the Thai food that we had on U street was wonderful. We got to see the new MLK memorial. As I looked around, I wondered where all the asian folks were..duh. Iwo Jima memorial. I got tears in my eyes as I read all the quotes on the wall. To be honest, I am least knowledgeable about computer stuff and history. I couldn’t tell you when the battle of 1812 happened. It’s that bad. I have no idea how I passed History. I remember going to Iwo Jima some years back and I was balling. I don’t know why. I don’t know what on earth Iwo Jima is or was but it broke me.

Why am I tearing up right NOW?!

There is something so beautiful in the hard times. Life can be really hard and we would rather die than endure the pain that we are going through. I know that feeling. I remember begging God to take me so I didn’t have to deal with hell that I was in. I also remember the feeling of God smiling down on me and hearing Him say, “I know. I know it’s hard but you must go through this storm in order to get to the sunshine. Trust ME. Embrace this moment. Feel the pain. Remember this moment because it won’t always be like this. Keep Going.”

I say this to you. I say this to myself. Enjoy the pain. Don’t wish it away because that is where growth happens.

2 thoughts on “Sweet storms

Leave a Reply

