Jerk face

I have been such a terrible blogger lately. There have been so many transitions recently and I have been trying to keep up with everything. I want to write about how perfect the transition has been and how I have been making delicious  food everyday. The truth is, however, that I have been making delicious food everyday but the transition has not been easy.

I have realized, in just a few weeks of being married, what a selfish jerk I am. I am learning that I don’t love the Lord as much as I had thought or else I would be more gracious and patient with my Prince. I am learning that I am really picky about the bed being made and about the drawers being shut all the way (I really do think this is logical). I am also learning that Jesus came to break my bondage to ME. Not just to my past or to my future, but to me right now. To my stupid little thoughts today, to my selfishness today, to my insecurities TODAY!

What freedom!! It is a freedom that I must fight for though. I must daily remind myself of the gospel and what the Lord did for me. I often get so caught up with myself that I neglect the good of those closest to me. Time to put on armor and battle it out.

Anyone else being a jerk?

4 thoughts on “Jerk face

  1. Yes! I am being a jerk too – In fact, this post could not be more timely. I am battling some similiar things – I would love to talk to you actually. Are you free to chat at any point after 5:00pm tonight? Thanks for writing this, its nice to know I’m not alone!

  2. All the time, every day.
    I am so glad to hear that the transition has been hard. That means you’re doing the right thing. 🙂 If it weren’t you would be the wierdest person in the world and for some reason Satan wouldn’t want to attack his least favorite institution ever created and that wouldn’t make sense.

    I am now thinking of the song “WHEN I AM AFRAID I WILL TRUST IN YOU!!” I am proud of your fighting words sister. Truly the Lord has your back on this one! And you will see his salvation in the land of the living.

    Love you!!

  3. I have been married over 10 years and the Jerk Face appears often, without warning. We are still learning to compromise with each other =) It does get better but compromise is key.

Leave a Reply

